CD: Songs for Mary

This CD is a portrait of Mary in 17 songs, from Renaissance motets to contemporary compositions, from Christmas carols to spirituals. It is the perfect companion to the choir's newest DVD: Songs for Mary, directed by Curt Faudon. Guest artists include Andrew Lawrence-King on harp and jazz singer Rachelle Jeanty, who joins the choir boys in a rousing rendition of "Oh Mary, Don't You Weep". Nine of the songs have not been recorded before by the Vienna Boys Choir, and two of these are world premieres: Tod und Liebe by Raoul Gehringer and Ave Maria Mahalaxmi by Gerald Wirth.

SONGS FOR MARY / Track list

01. Johann Sebastian Bach, Jauchzet, frohlocket

02. Josquin Desprez, Virgo prudentissima

03. Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla, A la xácara xacarilla

04. Es ist ein Ros' entsprungen

05. Jean Lheritier, Nigra sum sed formosa

06. Claudio Monteverdi, Pulchra es

07. Max Reger, Mariä Wiegenlied

08. Namo, namo, Maria

09. Camille Saint-Saens, Ave Maria in A

10. Andachtsjodler

11. Anton Bruckner, Ave Maria

12. Maria durch ein Dornwald ging

13. Raoul Gehringer, Tod und Liebe

14. Still, still, still

15. Gerald Wirth, Ave Maria Mahalaxmi

16. Oh, Mary, Don't You Weep

17. Franz Gruber, Stille Nacht



Recorded at Augartenpalais and at St. Leopold's, Vienna; 11/2012, 03/2013, 06/2013, and 10/2013.

15.00 EUR
Add to Cart